Alain Berset

Alain Berset was Federal Councillor and Head of the Federal Department of Home Affairs (Health, Social and Retirement Insurances, Food Safety and Veterinary Office and Cultural Affairs) from 2012 to 2023. He was President of the Swiss Confederation in 2018 and 2023.

Alain Berset was born in Fribourg on 9 April 1972. He studied Political Science and Economics at the University of Neuchâtel where he graduated in 1996, later obtaining a doctorate in 2005. He is married and the father of three children.

While preparing his doctoral dissertation he worked as an assistant lecturer at the Research Institute for Regional Economic Development at the University of Neuchâtel. He then held a post as guest researcher at the Hamburg Institute of International Economics before becoming a strategic advisor at the Department of Economic Affairs of canton Neuchâtel. In 2006 he set up his own business as an independent strategy and communications advisor working primarily for associations, businesses and NGOs.

In 2003, Alain Berset was elected to the Council of States for the canton of Fribourg and was its president in 2008/2009. From 2005 until his election to the Federal Council he was vice president of the Social Democratic group. He chaired the Council Office, the Political Institutions Committee and the Delegation to the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie. Before his election to the Council of States he was president of the Social Democratic group in the Constitutional Council of canton Fribourg. Between 2001 and 2003 he was a member of the local parliament of his commune of residence, Belfaux.

He was elected to the Federal Council by the United Federal Assembly on 14 December 2011. He has been head of the Federal Department of Home Affairs from 2012 to 2023. He was president of the Swiss Confederation in 2018 and 2023.

Speeches

Selected speeches by Alain Berset

Events

Selected events with Alain Berset

Social Media

Alain Berset on Instagram
Alain Berset on X
Alain Berset on Facebook

Curriculum vitae

CV Alain Berset – english (PDF, 231 kB, 18.01.2024)

CV Alain Berset – french (PDF, 230 kB, 18.01.2024)

Contact

Contact Alain Berset by e-mail:
office@berset.ch

For letter post please request address by e-mail.

Mail

Print contact

https://www.edi.admin.ch/content/edi/en/home/das-edi/ehemalige-departmentsvorsteherinnen/alain-berset.html

Alain Berset

Von 2012 bis 2023 war Alain Berset Bundesrat und Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern (EDI). In den Jahren 2018 und 2023 war Alain Berset Bundespräsident.

Alain Berset wurde am 9. April 1972 in Freiburg geboren. Er studierte an der Universität Neuenburg Politik- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, die er 1996 mit dem Lizentiat beziehungsweise 2005 mit dem Doktorat abschloss. Er ist verheiratet und Vater von drei Kindern.

Während seiner Doktorarbeit arbeitete er als Assistent und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Forschungsinstitut für regionale Wirtschaftsentwicklung der Universität Neuenburg. Anschliessend war er als Gastforscher am Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung in Hamburg tätig, bevor er strategischer Berater im Volkswirtschaftsdepartement des Kantons Neuenburg wurde. 2006 machte er sich als unabhängiger Strategie- und Kommunikationsberater selbstständig und arbeitete vor allem für Verbände, Unternehmen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen.

2003 wurde Alain Berset für den Kanton Freiburg in den Ständerat gewählt, den er 2008/2009 präsidierte. Ab 2005 bis zu seiner Wahl in den Bundesrat amtete er zudem als Vizepräsident der sozialdemokratischen Fraktion. Er präsidierte das Ratsbüro, die staatspolitische Kommission und die Delegation der parlamentarischen Versammlung der Frankophonie. Vor seiner Wahl in den Ständerat war er Präsident der sozialdemokratischen Fraktion im Verfassungsrat des Kantons Freiburg. 2001 bis 2003 gehörte er dem Generalrat seiner Wohngemeinde Belfaux an.

Am 14. Dezember 2011 wählte ihn die Vereinigte Bundesversammlung in den Bundesrat. Von 2012 bis 2023 war er Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern (EDI). In den Jahren 2018 und 2023 war Alain Berset Bundespräsident.

Reden

Ausgewählte Reden von Alain Berset

Anlässe

Ausgewählte Anlässe mit Alain Berset

Social Media

Alain Berset auf Instagram
Alain Berset auf X
Alain Berset auf Facebook

Lebenslauf

Lebenslauf Alain Berset – englisch (PDF, 231 kB, 18.01.2024)

Lebenslauf Alain Berset – französisch (PDF, 230 kB, 18.01.2024)

Kontakt

Kontaktaufnahme mit Alain Berset per E-Mail:
office@berset.ch

Für Briefpost bitte Adresse per E-Mail anfragen

Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.edi.admin.ch/content/edi/de/home/das-edi/ehemalige-departmentsvorsteherinnen/alain-berset.html