Where can I find statistical data on racism in Switzerland and other countries?

A number of different institutions currently gather data on racist and discriminatory behaviour and attitudes:

  • Public sector bodies record data on acts that are punishable by law and which are reported to the police or lead to criminal proceedings or a conviction
  • The media and independent organisations such as advice centres or complaints services also report on cases that are not brought to the attention of the judicial authorities, some of which may be based merely on suspicion.
  • Representative surveys examine relevant attitudes within the general population.

Chapter 5 of the SCRA report (PDF, 1 MB, 26.11.2018) on racial discrimination in Switzerland in 2014 provides an overview of the available data on racial discrimination and racism in Switzerland.

Discrimination does not affect all areas of life to the same extent. According to the report, it is particularly prevalent when job hunting and in everyday working life. Foreigners seeking accommodation also feel discriminated against on a number of levels. On the other hand, cases of discrimination in dealings with the authorities and healthcare professionals are less frequent.

The most common forms of discrimination are verbal racial abuse and not being treated equally, whereas physical attacks are relatively rare.

The type of racism experienced differs depending on the target group: Antisemitism mvery frequently manifests itself through the sending of hate mail and dissemination of written and audio(visual) material. Men are more likely than women to experience racial discrimination, and young people are more often targeted than the elderly.

Legal cases

Racially motived acts committed in public can be prosecuted and punished under Art. 261bis of the Swiss Criminal Code (SCC) and Art. 171c of the Military Criminal Code (MCC). The Federal Commission against Racism monitors and analyses the application of these criminal law provisions. It publishes an online compilation of case law on Article 261bis SCC (German, French, Italian) containing fully anonymised summaries of court verdicts and decisions by appeal bodies since 1995, which can be freely consulted by visitors to the website. Visitors can search for specific cases or use the statistical tables to gain an overview of case law in this area.

The Federal Statistical Office began publishing annual police crime statistics in 2010, covering all offences punishable by law that were reported to the cantonal and communal police forces and recorded using a standardised methodology.

Incidents

The Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities and the private sector NGO Coordination Intercommunautaire Contre l'Antisémitisme et la Diffamation publish a yearly report on antisemitism in German- and French-speaking Switzerland respectively. As the two reports differ in their design, it is not possible to compare the information they contain.

The Beratungsnetz für Rassismusopfer, a network of advice centres for the victims of racism, has been collecting data on racial discrimination throughout Switzerland via its DoSyRa documentation and monitoring system since 2008. The data is provided by 26 advice centres in various cantons and published in an annual report.

The report is available on the network’s website (German, French, Italian), on the humanrights.ch information platform and on the website of the Federal Commission against Racism.

The «Chronology of racism in Switzerland», a report produced each year by the Society for Minorities in Switzerland and the Foundation against racism and antisemitism, provides an additional overview.

Attitudes

Cultural diversity presents challenges for Switzerland. The survey on diversity and coexistence in Switzerland aims to build a reliable picture of the various groups that make up the country’s inhabitants and how successfully they live side by side by collating information on the acceptance, rejection and integration of certain sections of the population. Moreover, the resulting data enables the tracking of social trends in relation to racism, xenophobia, hostility – in particular towards Muslims, black people and Jewish people – and discrimination. The data gathered serves as a basis for monitoring social change and making detailed analyses. It also helps guide policies on cohesion, integration and combating discrimination.

Europe

The European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights observes and analyses xenophobia, racism and antisemitism, monitors respect for the principle of non-discrimination and encourages preventive action. One of the Agency’s main tasks is managing and analysing the data collected through FRANET, the European information and research network.

 

https://www.edi.admin.ch/content/edi/en/home/fachstellen/fachstelle-fuer-rassismusbekaempfung-frb/FAQ/wo-finde-ich-statistische-angaben-zu-rassismus-in-der-schweiz-un.html

Wo finde ich statistische Angaben zu Rassismus in der Schweiz und in andern Ländern?

Heute erfassen unterschiedliche Institutionen rassistische oder diskriminierende Verhaltensweisen und Einstellungen:

  • Staatliche Organe erheben rechtliche relevante Handlungen, die zu einer Anzeige, einem Verfahren oder einer Verurteilung führen.
  • Medien und unabhängige Organisationen wie Beratungs- oder Beschwerdestellen berücksichtigen auch Vorfälle, die Justizorganen nicht zugetragen werden und möglicherweise auch nur Verdachtsmomente darstellen.
  • Repräsentative Umfragen decken das Beobachten relevanter Einstellungen in der Bevölkerung ab.

Der Bericht der Fachstelle für Rassismusbekämpfung «Rassistische Diskriminierung in der Schweiz» 2014 gibt in Kapitel 5 eine Übersicht über die Datenlage bezüglich Rassistischer Diskriminierung und Rassismus in der Schweiz.

Diskriminierung betrifft nicht alle Lebensbereiche gleich stark. Gemäss dem Bericht kommt sie bei der Arbeitssuche und im beruflichen Alltag besonders häufig vor. Auch bei der Wohnungssuche fühlen sich Ausländerinnen und Ausländer vielfach diskriminiert. Weniger Fälle von Diskriminierung werden hingegen auf Ämtern oder im Gesundheitswesen erfasst.

Als häufigste Form der Diskriminierung erweist sich verbaler Rassismus, und Benachteiligung durch Diskriminierung. Angriffe auf die körperliche Integrität treten relativ selten auf.

Die Art des Rassismus ist je nach betroffener Zielgruppe anders ausgeprägt: Zuschriften und die Verbreitung von Ton und Schriften scheinen besonders häufig einen antisemitischen Hintergrund zu haben. Männer sind häufiger von rassistischer Diskriminierung betroffen als Frauen, jüngere Personen häufiger als ältere.

Rechtsfälle

Rassistisch motivierte Taten, die in der Öffentlichkeit begangen wurden, können gestützt auf die Antirassismus-Strafnorm (Art. 261bis StGB bzw. Art. 171c MStG) geahndet und bestraft werden. Die Eidgenössische Kommission gegen Rassismus EKR beobachtet und analysiert die Anwendung der Strafnorm. Sie publiziert auf ihrer Webseite eine allgemein zugängliche Zusammenstellung und Dokumentation der Rechtsprechung zu Artikel 261bis StGB ab 1995. Darin werden die Urteile der gerichtlichen Instanzen anonymisiert zusammengefasst. Interessierte haben die Möglichkeit, gezielt nach Einzelfällen zu suchen oder sich anhand der Auszählungen einen Überblick über die Rechtsprechungspraxis zu verschaffen.

Seit 2010 veröffentlicht das Bundesamt für Statistik die von allen Polizeicorps der Kantone und Städte einheitlich erhobene Polizeiliche Kriminalstatistik PKS, in der alle von der Polizei erfassten Anzeigen gemäss Strafgesetzbuch erfasst werden. 

Vorfälle / Ereignisse

Der Schweizerischer Israelitischer Gemeindebund SIG und die private NGO  Coordination Intercommunautaire Contre l'Antisémitisme et la Diffamation CICAD publizieren jährlich einen Bericht zu Antisemitismus in der deutschen bzw. der französischen Schweiz. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass die beiden Erhebungen unterschiedlich konzipiert sind, die Angaben also nicht vergleichbar sind.

Das Beratungsnetz für Rassismusopfer sammelt mit dem Dokumentations- und Monitoringsystem DoSyRa seit 2008 kantonsübergreifend Daten zu rassistischer Diskriminierung in der Schweiz. Es werden Daten von 26 Beratungsstellen zusammengetragen und jährlich in einem Bericht publiziert.

Der Bericht wird auf der Internetseite des Beratungsnetzes für Rassismusopfer, auf der Informationsplattform humanrights.ch und auf der Webseite der Eidgenössischen Kommission gegen Rassismus EKR publiziert.

Eine andere Übersicht ermöglicht die jährlich von der Gesellschaft Minderheiten in der Schweiz GMS und der Stiftung gegen Rassismus und Antisemitismus GRA herausgegebene «Chronologie der rassistischen Vorfälle in der Schweiz».

Einstellungen

Die kulturelle Vielfalt stellt Herausforderungen an die Schweiz. Die Erhebung «Zusammenleben in der Schweiz» (ZidS) soll ein verlässliches Bild des Zusammenlebens verschiedener Gruppen der Gesellschaft zu zeichnen. Sie sammelt Informationen zur Akzeptanz, zur Ablehnung und zur Integration bestimmter Bevölkerungsgruppen. Dank der Erhebung können ausserdem gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen in Bezug auf Rassismus, Fremdenfeindlichkeit, Feindseligkeit – insbesondere gegenüber muslimischen, jüdischen und schwarzen Menschen – oder Diskriminierung verfolgt werden. Die erfassten Daten bilden die Grundlage für das Monitoring von gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen sowie für vertiefte Studien. Sie dienen der Politik zudem als Lenkungshilfe in den Bereichen Zusammenleben, Integration und Bekämpfung von Diskriminierung. 

Europa

Die FRA - Agentur der Europäischen Union für Grundrechte beobachtet und analysiert Fremdenfeindlichkeit, Rassismus und Antisemitismus, überwacht die Einhaltung des Nichtdiskriminierungsgrundsatzes und fördert Präventionsmassnahmen. Eine zentrale Aufgabe der FRA ist die Verwaltung und Auswertung der Daten aus dem europaweiten Informationsnetz FRANET.

https://www.edi.admin.ch/content/edi/de/home/fachstellen/fachstelle-fuer-rassismusbekaempfung-frb/FAQ/wo-finde-ich-statistische-angaben-zu-rassismus-in-der-schweiz-un.html